University of Virginia Department of Physics

Physics 6060
How Things Work II -- 3 Credits

The home page and syllabus for PHYS 6060 How Things Work II for Spring 2017 is given below. Please read everything carefully and click on the SYLLABUS for more detail about the content. However, it is not final and subject to change. You have to purchase access to the electronic version of the 6'th edition of How Things Work by Bloomfield. The electronic version contains text, animations, exercises, and problems from which the homework assignments will be based. If you have taken PHYS 6050 in the Fall 2016, you will not have to pay again for access to the website. After you have registered I will email you the 6 digit course ID to get access to the electronic text at the website link Wileyplus.com.

An Online Physics Course for High School Physics and Physical Science Teachers
Semester Spring

Syllabus





Syllabus


Date


Session

   Read Online Text and View All Animations


   Review Summary Slides for each Section


View 2008 Lecture/Demo Videos

Monday, January 23

1   Introd. and Skating
Section 1.1
  Video 1 Introd. and Skating
Wednesday, January 25
2 Falling Balls
Section 1.2
  Video 2 Falling Balls
Friday, January 27
3 Faling Balls
Section 1.2
  Video 3 Falling Balls II
Monday, January 30

4 Ramps
Section 1.3
  Video 4 Ramps
Wednesday, February 01

5 Seesaws
Section 2.1
  Video 5 Seesaws
Friday, February 03

6 Seesaws
Section 2.1
  Video 6 Seesaws II
Monday, February 06

7 Wheels
Section 2.2
  Video 7 Wheels
Wednesday, February 8

8 Bumper Cars
Section 2.3
  Video 8 Bumper Cars
Friday, February 10

9 Static Electricity
Section 10.1
  Video 9 Electronic Air Cleaners I
Monday, February 13

10 Static Electricity
Section 10.1
  Video 10 Electronic Air Cleaners II
Monday, February 13

1-8 Problem Set 1 Due 11:59 PM EST
1.1-2.3
Wednesday, February 15
11 Xenographic Copiers
Section 10.2
  Video 11 Xenographic Copiers I
Friday, February 17
12 Xenographic Copiers
Section 10.2
  Video 12 Xenographic Copiers II
Monday, February 20
13 Flashlights
Section 10.3
  Video 13 Magnetically Levitated Trains I
Wednesday, February 22

14 Flashlights
Section 10.3
  Video 14 Trains II and Flashlights
Friday, February 24
15 Household Magnets
Section 11.1
  Video 15 Flashlights II
Monday, February 27

16 Household Magnets
Section 11.1
  Video 16 Power Distribution I
Monday, February 27

9-15 Problem Set 2 Due 11:59 PM EST
10.1-10.3
Wednesday, March 1
17 Electric Power Distribution
Section 11.2
  Video 17 Power Distribution II
Friday, March 3
18 Electric Power Distribution
Section 11.2
  Video 18 Tape Recorders
Monday, March 6

19 Review
1.1-2.3,10.1-11.2
  Video 19 Review
Wednesday, March 8

20 Radio
Section 12.1
  Video 20 Audio Amplifiers I
Friday, March 10

21 Radio
Section 12.1
  Video 21 Audio Amplifiers II
Monday, March 13

22 Radio
Section 12.1
  Video 22 Computers I
Monday, March 13

15-19 Problem Set 3 Due 11:59 PM EDT
11.1, 11.2, 12.1
Wednesday, March 15

23 Microwave Ovens
Section 12.2
  Video 23 Computers II and Radios I
Friday, March 17

24 Microwave Ovens
Section 12.2
  Video 24 Radio II
March 15 - March 17

1-22 Midterm Exam March 15 12:01 PM to March 17 7:00 PM EDT

1,2,10-12
Monday, March 20

25 Sunlight
Section 13.1
  Video 25 Television
Wednesday, March 22

26 Sunlight
Section 13.1
  Video 26 Microwaves
Friday, March 24

27 Discharge Lamps
Section 13.2
  Video 27 Sunlight I
Monday, March 27

28 Discharge Lamps
Section 13.2
  Video 28 Sunlight II
Wednesday, March 29

29 LEDS and Lasers
Section 13.3
  Video 29 Fluorescent Lights I
Friday, March 31

30 LEDS and Lasers
Section 13.3
  Video 30 Fluorescent Lights II
Monday, April 03

31 Cameras
Section 14.1
  Video 31 Lasers
Monday, April 03

23-31 Problem Set 4 Due 11:59 PM EDT
12.2,12.3,13.1,13.2,13.3
Wednesday, April 05

32 Cameras
Section 14.1
  Video 32 Cameras
Friday, April 07

33 Optical Recording and Communications
Section 14.2
  Video 33 Recording and Communications
Monday, April 10

34 Optical Recording and Communications
Section 14.2
  Video 34 Knives & Steel
Wednesday, April 12

35 Audio Players
Section 14.3
  Video 35 Knives & Steel II and Windows & Glass
Friday, April 14

36 Audio Players
Section 14.3
  Video 36 Windows & Glass II and Plastics
Monday, April 17

32-36 Problem Set 5 Due 11:59 PM EDT

14.1,14.2,14.3
Monday, April 17

37 Nuclear Weapons
Section 15.1
  Video 37 Nuclear Weapons I
Wednesday, April 19

38 Nuclear Power Generation
Section 15.2
  Video 38 Nuclear Weapons II
Friday, April 21

39 Medical Imaging and Radiation

  Video 39 Medical Imaging and Radiation
Monday, Apr 24

40 Final Review
1,2,10-15
  Video 40 Review
Monday, May 01

37-39 Problem Set 6 Due 11:59 PM EDT

15.1,15.2,15.3
12:01 PM Wed. May 03 - 7:00 PM Friday May 05

1-40 Final Exam

1,2,10-15