Algebra Seminar. Fall 2008.

Algebra Seminar. Fall 2008.

Wednesdays 3:30-4:30 pm, Kerchof 317 and
some Fridays 3:30-4:30pm, Kerchof 326

Note: This is a developing schedule. The dates of talks, especially for mini-courses may change.

date speaker university Title
Sep 3, Wed Andrei Rapinchuk UVa Weakly commensurable arithmetic groups
Sep 10, Wed
Sep 17, Wed Alexander Kleshchev University of Oregon, visiting UVa Mini-course on W-algebras. Lecture 1.
Sep 24, Wed Stephen Griffeth University of Minnessota The lattice of submodules of a Verma module for the rational Cherednik algebra of type G(r,1,n)
Oct 1, Wed Alexander Kleshchev Mini-course on W-algebras. Lecture 2.
Oct 8, Wed Alexander Kleshchev Mini-course on W-algebras. Lecture 3.
Oct 10, Fri David Hill University of California, Berkeley Type $Q$ Lie Superalgebras and Affine Sergeev Algebras
Oct 15, Wed Kai-Uwe Bux UVa Mini-course on finiteness properties of groups. Lecture 1.
Oct 24, Fri Kai-Uwe Bux Mini-course on finiteness properties of groups. Lecture 2.
Oct 29, Wed Kai-Uwe Bux Mini-course on finiteness properties of groups. Lecture 3.
Oct 31, Fri Jayadev Athreya Yale University Logarithm laws, diophantine approximation, and the geometry of numbers.
Nov 5, Wed Mikhail Ershov UVa Mini-course on p-adic analytic groups. Lecture 1.
Nov 12, Wed Mikhail Ershov Mini-course on p-adic analytic groups. Lecture 2.
Nov 14, Fri David Hemmer University of Buffalo, SUNY An application of algebraic topology to computing cohomology for Young modules of the symmetric group
Nov 19, Wed Mikhail Ershov Mini-course on p-adic analytic groups. Lecture 3.
Dec 3, Wed
Dec 10, Wed Jonathan Brundan University of Oregon Category O for Grassmannians and Khovanov's diagram algebra