home instructor courses examples notes facilities resources Research


Michael RasburyMichael Rasbury is an Associate Professor in Sound Design within the Department of Drama at the University of Virginia. Before that, he served on the faculty of the School of the Performing Arts at Louisiana Tech University. In 2009, his original musical script titled Max Understood (co-written by Nancy Carlin) was produced Off-Broadway for the New York Musical Theatre Festival. In 2008, Max Understood was one of four new works selected for development through a staged reading workshop by the Eugene O'Neill National Music Theatre Conference. Before that, he composed music and sound for Macbeth, presented by the Colorado Shakespeare Festival. Michael created EarthRecordings.org in 2008, a new website showcasing original environmental recordings utilizing HRTF wide stereo techniques. He is the resident sound designer for Off-Broadway's Transport Group, having provided designs for And Away We Go, The Patsy, Bury The Dead, Dark at the Top of the Stairs, Hello Again (Drama Desk nominee,) and Marcy in the Galaxy. In 2011, he was nominated for a Helen Hayes award for his Henry VIII design for the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, D.C. Between 2004 and 2007 he composed music and sound for six productions presented by the Lake Tahoe Shakespeare Festival. He served as sound designer for The Lost Colony Outdoor Drama between 2006 and 2011. In 2001, he toured Europe and the United States with the production of An Alphabet, a John Cage piece produced by the John Cage Trust. Also in 2001, he wrote an orchestral score for Louisiana Tech University's theatrical adaptation of The Leafmen and the Brave Good Bugs, written by award winning children's author/illustrator, William Joyce. Michael composed music/sound for the 1998 and 1996 Humana Festivals for New American Playwrights at Actors Theatre of Louisville and for The Public in New York City. Michael has performed as a keyboardist/vocalist at two New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festivals with The Lightnin' Bugs, a Louisiana band. In 2003, he was recognized as the Louisiana State Funded Theatre Artist by receiving the Artist Fellowship Grant in Theatre presented by the Louisiana Division of the Arts.


Go to the University of Virginia home page
Last Modified:
December 6, 2016